SWAN Swears -in New Elected Executives

5 June 2021 By Ikenna Okonkwo

A sports manager with Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria(FRCN) Comrade Ndubueze Chidoka has been reelected as the chairman of Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) FCT chapter.

Also, Editor Online of Blueprint Newspapers, Ikenna Okonkwo, has returned as SWAN Secretary in the nation’s capital.

Both emerged winners after the 2021 election conducted in Abuja.

While Okonkwo garnered a whopping 78 votes, his opponent, Chris Onokpegu, of an online platform got only one vote in a contest decided in the presence of national SWAN leaders on Friday.

Chidoka won 76 votes to flog Bunmi Haruna of Nigeria Info radio who picked four votes.

Delivering his victory speech, Chidoka expressed appreciation to members for reelecting him and promised to carry on his good works.

ā€œIā€™m glad that our members who are the pillars of the association have reciprocated what they witnessed in the last three years. The coming years under my watch will experience more dividends and achievements,ā€ he said.

The chairman also enjoined some members to retrace their steps and join hands with the new leadership to advance the course of sports writing in the FCT.

In other positions, Salifu Usman of Leadership Newspapers with 78 votes defeated Maxwell Nwachukwu who squeezed two votes. In the assistant secretary position, Albert Akota (Peoples Daily) polled 76 votes to secure victory against Remi Solula of theCable network.

Muyhideen Jimoh of the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) got 77 votes to beat Omo Unubun Nigeria Television Authority who picked three votes.
With 75 votes, the Treasurer position was won by Ayomide Makinde of the Nigeria Television Authority who silenced Uche Nwudoh of Kiss fm with only four votes.

Busayo Olowokere of the Nigeria Customs Broadcasting Network (NCBN) was elected unopposed with 80 votes.

The newly elected executive members were sworn-in in the presence of teeming SWAN members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *