Senate Declines Confirmation Of Lauretta Onochie

13 July 2021 by James Itodo…

The Senate has declined the confirmation of Lauretta Onochie for appointment as National Commissioner representing Delta State at the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

It however confirmed five other nominees.

The nominees are: Prof Muhammad Sani Kallah,representing Kastina, Prof.Kunle Ajayi(Ekiti-)Saidu Ahmad (Jigawa),Dr Baba Bila (North-East) Prof.Abdullahi Zuru(North-West).

Their confirmation followed the adoption of the report of the Committee on INEC on the screening of the nominees.

Onochie’s nomination was rejected by the Senate on reasons bothering on violation of Federal Character Principles.

The Committee Chairman, Senator Kabiru Gaya, while presenting report of screening of the nominees told his colleagues that It was against Federal Character Principles to have two persons from one state as INEC National Commissioners, given the presence of Mrs May Agbamuche Mbu from Delta, as National Commissioner of INEC.

Senate also stood down the confirmation of Professor Sani Adam(North-Central) for further legislative work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *