President Buhari Appoints New Service Chiefs

26 January 2021 By Nkiru Njemanze

President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

This is contained in a statement signed by
Special Adviser to the President on
(Media and Publicity) Femi Adesina in Abuja.

Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

The statement says President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he describes their “overwhelming achievements in efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *