ICPC Chairman, 71 Others Make List Of New SANs

13 November 2020 by VICTORIA ABAH

The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee, LPPC, has conferred the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria, SAN, on 72 legal practitioners in the country.

The legal body, in a statement through the Director Press and Information, Supreme Court of Nigeria, Dr. Festus Akande in Abuja said it took the decision during its 143rd plenary session.

While 62 of the successful candidates are lawyers in active advocacy, 10 others are academics.

Among those who bagged the prestigious rank includes the Chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission, ICPC, Prof. Bolaji Owasanoye, who was selected in the academic cadre.

Equally on the list of the successful candidates are the Attorney-General of Akwa Ibom State, Uwemedimo Nwoko, former National Legal Adviser of the ruling All Progressive Congress, APC, Babatunde Ogala, as well as two former General Secretaries of the Nigerian Bar Association, NBA, Isiaka Olagunju and Afam Osigwe.

The 72 new SANs emerged from a total list of 137 lawyers that were shortlisted for the rank.

According to the statement, the swearing-in ceremony of the new SANs is scheduled for December 14.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *