FG Gives Approval To 14 Airlines.

04 September 2020 by Ngozi Otu

Ahead of the planned resumption of international flights into the Country , the Federal Government has given approval to 14 airlines to fly into the country’s airspace.

The approved airlines include; Middle East Airlines, Lebanon; British Airways; United Kingdom; Delta Airlines, USA; Qatar Airways, Qatar; Ethiopian Airlines, Ethiopia; Egypt Air, Egypt; Air Peace, Nigeria.

Others are; Virgin Atlantic, United Kingdom; Asky Airlines, Togo; Africa World Airways, Ghana; Air Cote d’ivoire, Cote d’ivoire;

The Aviation Minister, Sen. Hadi Sirika who disclosed this while speaking in Abuja at the Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19 Media briefing, said the approved airlines can fly into Nigeria airspace effective September 5, 2020.

Giving reason for the restricted airlines, the minister said for Air France, KLM and Lufthansa, tourists business holders are not allowed entry while Etihad Airways is open to citizens and residents only.

Restriction to Royal Air Maroc, Angola and Air Namibia is due to non-resumption of international flights to the countries while Rwanda Air was due to non-compliance with Foreign Carrier Operating Permit (FCOP), and South Africa is not applicable as COVID-19 Protocols are yet to be released
The minister who expressed satisfaction with the preparations so far, noted that only Abuja and Lagos airports would be open for operations on the 5th September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *