FCT Minister Inaugurates Newly Elected Press Corps Executive

26 August 2020 By Remi Johnson

Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, FCT, Malam Muhammad Musa Bello has described members of the press as worthy partners in the Abuja Project.

Malam Bello who stated this while inaugurating the newly elected executives of the Press Corps said he always relied on the support of the Press Corps in the discharge of his duties as Minister.

His words: “There is no doubt, if there is any agency or part of the wider FCT Administration family that has really helped me in this onerous job of working as the FCT Minister, I think it is the FCT Minister’s Press Corps. All of you have been partners in all the things we have done through your leadership because I’ve been able to receive very important feedback and communication from all of you through your leadership and I thank you very much indeed”.

The Minister commended members of the Press Corp, particularly the newly elected Chairman, Mr. Ikharo Attah, whom he said, was always available whenever he was called upon to serve.

He also commended the leadership style of Attah adding that his activities were the pride of the FCT Administration.

In his acceptance speech, Ikharo Attah assured the FCT Minister that the Press Corps would continue to report the activities of the Administration objectively.

Speaking at the occasion, the Chairman, FCT Council of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, Comrade Emmanuel Ogbeche urged the newly elected executives to “continue to hold the beacon of professional reportage.

His words: “There is nothing wrong in being a developmental journalist and also holding government accountable because this is a constitutional mandate, chapter 22 of the 1999 Constitution as amended”.

Earlier, the Chairman, transition committee for the election, Mr. Sam Ogbeifun stressed the need for journalists to partner with government for overall development

The new Executives are:
Mr Ikharo Attah of ITV- Chairman
Mr Hudu Yakubu of VON- Vice chairman,
Mr Gbenga Omokhunu of the Nations Newspaper- Secretary General.
Mr Caleb Onwe of New Telegraph- Assistant Secretary,
Mrs Toyin Adebayo of Daily Independent- Welfare and Publicity Secretary.
Mrs Remi Johnson of Kapital fm- Treasurer.
Mr Wisdom Acka of Abuja Digest- Financial Secretary and Mr Festus Ejiro Fifen of Ben TV- Auditor.

The Swearing –in ceremony which was performed by the Solicitor General of the FCTA, Barr. Yusuf Wodi, has in attendance the Permanent Secretary, FCTA, Sir Chinyeaka Ohaa, Chief of Staff to the FCT Minister, Malam Bashir Mai-Bornu, Executive Secretary of the FCDA, Engr Umar Gambo Jibrin, the Director Human Resources Department of the FCTA Dr Mohammed Bashir and other staff of the FCTA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *