TENNIS: Davis Cup Groups To Follow US Open As Part Of New Changes

Further changes have been made to the Davis Cup Finals with the group stage split from the knockout phase and to be played in September after the US Open.

Each of the four groups will be played in different cities from 14-18 September, with the quarter-finals onwards held in one venue in November.

The knockout phase is thought to be going to Abu Dhabi, although the host has not been confirmed by the ITF.

Great Britain are one of the 16 nations playing in the Finals.

PLS ALSO READ: TENNIS: Djokovic Targeting Gold At Paris 2024

The Davis Cup was revamped in 2019 with the introduction of the Finals – a concept led by Barcelona footballer Gerard Pique’s investment group and dubbed the ‘World Cup of Tennis’.

But there has been criticism over its schedule lengthening the season – and the close proximity to a similar men’s team event run by the ATP.

The ATP Cup is hosted by Australia and takes place in January, a month after the Davis Cup Finals and leading up to the Australian Open.

Related posts

Koepka Claims First Win Since 2021

Debby Bubu-Eselebor

Benn Admits To Two Failed Drug Tests

Debby Bubu-Eselebor

EU Sanctions Roman Abramovich

Debby Bubu-Eselebor

Leave a Comment