Special Report

FCT Council Elections : Residents Lament Delay In PVC Issuance

In 2019, residents of the Federal Capital Territory went to the poll to elect Chairmen in all the six Area Councils of the Territory.

At the end of the election, the All Progressives Congress, APC emerged winner in 4 out of the 6 area councils while the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, got the remaining 2 area councils.

As part of preparations for another election which is scheduled for February 12, 2022, various political parties conducted their primary election after which chairmanship and councillorship candidates emerged from 14 political parties from the six area Councils to participate in the election.

Commenting on the exercise which is less than one month, the FCT Resident Electoral Commissioner of INEC, Alhaji Yahaya Bello said the Commission had already deployed all non sensitive materials for the conduct of the February 12 FCT Area Council Election to the six area Councils.

According to him, over 12,000 Ad-hoc staff had been trained for the conduct of the election in 2,822 polling units across the area Councils.

Some of the major political leaders in the election, Ahmed Baba of the APC, Yunusa Umar PDP and Philip Chukwudi of APGA said their parties were fully ready for the February 12 FCT Area Council Election.

A cross section of eligible voters in the Territory who spoke on the election however complained of delay in issuance of PVCs after registration, error in names and missing PVCs at the INEC office.

While calling on the Independent National Electoral Commission to resolve all issues surrounding the collection of PVCs, the eligible voters also stressed the need for the Commission to ensure a free, fair and credible election come February 12, 2022.

By Matthew Ayoola

Related posts

Residents Of BAC Raise Alarm Over Epileptic Services In PHCCs


2021 : HOR Records Success In Passage Of PIB, Electoral Act, Others


FCT : Gwagwalada Area Council Decries Poor Health Care Delivery


Leave a Comment