National News

President Buhari Replaces Sacked Power Minister, Reappoints INEC National Commissioners, Others

By James Itodo

President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated Mr Muazu Sambo as a minister-designate from Taraba State.

Mr Sambo is to replace the former Minister of Power, Sale Mamman, who was relieved of his job in September, along with Sabo Nanono, ex-agriculture minister.

Buhari’s letter seeking the confirmation of the nominee was read by the Senate President Ahmad Lawan at the commencement of plenary .

Similarly, President Buhari reappointed Malam Mohammed Haruna (Niger) North Central and Mrs May Agbamuche Mbu (Delta) as National Commissioners of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The President also nominated Okeagu Kenneth Nnamdi (Abia) South East; Maj. Gen. A.B. Alkali (retd.) (Adamawa), North East; Prof. Rada H. Gumus (Bayelsa), South South; Mr. Sam Olumeku (Ondo) South West as National Commissioners of INEC and Olaniyi Olaleye Ijalaye (Ondo) South West, as Resident Electoral Commissioner.

Buhari, in a letter addressed to the Senate President, asked the Red Chamber to confirm the nominees “in the usual expeditious manner.”

He also requested the Senate to confirm nominees for National Population Commission (NPC) commissioners.

The nominess are: Engr Benedict Opong (Akwa Ibom); Mrs Gloria Izofor Mni; Barr. Mrs Patricia O. Iyayan Kuchi (Benue), Dr. Bala Haliru (Kebbi) and Dr Eyitayo Oyetunji (Oyo).

Related posts

Explosions Rock Military Base In Somalia


Redesigned Notes : AP Frowns At Hardship Impossd On Nigerians

Shakirat Alabi

FRSC Deploys Over 25,000 Personnel For Sallah Operations


Leave a Comment